and Conservation Areas in the Administrative County of Surrey, 6th Edition, 1976

Home page

Name or Description Grade
of Listing
Church of St. John the Baptist, Church Lane (14c. or earlier)B
Clew's Farmhouse (15c. and 16c.) and barn, Clew's Lane II*
Ford Farm, Ford Road (18c.) L
Heathcote, Farm Road (late 18c.) II
Holy Well of St John the Baptist, Clews Lane II
Newbridge Cottage, Guildford Road (16c.) L
The Old Cottage, Church Lane (16c.) II

Why is a building listed?
Listing is not meant to fossilise a building. Its long-term interests are often best served by putting it to good use. If this cannot be the one it was designed for, a new use may have to be found. Listing ensures that the architectural and historic interest of the building is carefully considered before any alterations, either outside or inside, are agreed.
How are buildings chosen?
Buildings can be listed because of age, rarity, architectural merit, and method of construction. Occasionally English Heritage selects a building because the building has played a part in the life of a famous person, or as the scene for an important event. An interesting group of buildings - such as a model village or a square - may also be listed. The older a building is, the more likely it is to be listed. All buildings built before 1700 which survive in anything like their original condition are listed, as are most built between 1700 and 1840. After that date, the criteria become tighter with time, so that post-1945 buildings have to be exceptionally important to be listed.

Grades I, II* and II are those included in a Certified Statutory List as a building of Special Architectural or Historic Interest by the Secretary of State for the Environment under section 54, Town and Country Planning Act, 1971.
Grade I - These are buildings of exceptional interest (only about 2 per cent of listed buildings so far are in this grade)
Grade II* - These are particularly important buildings of more than special interest (some 4 per cent of listed buildings)
Grade II - These are buildings of special interest, which warrant every effort being made to preserve them
A, B, C - Ecclesiastical buildings in use are generally exempt from the listed buildings provisions of the Planning Acts but are included in the Statutory Lists with letter grades or without notation.
Lists compiled before August 1977 employed the grades A, B and C for Anglican churches in use. These grades were adopted because it was considered that if the same standards were employed as for secular buildings the result would be to include too many churches in Grade I. The Historic Buildings Council advised in August 1977 that the use of A, B and C grades for Anglican churches in use should be discontinued, and that the grading of Anglican churches should be fully equivalent to that of secular buildings.
L - Buildings of local architectural or historic interest, previously noted as Grade III or included in a Supplementary List by the Secretary of State for the Environment.